2008 Chief of Naval Research Awards

The Office of Naval Research (ONR) awarded $1.2 million in research grants for innovative ideas or technologies submitted during this 2008 Chief of Naval Research (CNR) Challenge. Twelve award recipients received $100,000 toward the continued research and development of technologies which may improve U.S. Navy and Marine Corps warfighting capabilities.

Submissions for the challenge closed in August at the 2008 ONR Naval Science and Technology Partnership Conference. ONR evaluated all entries based on individual merit, applicability and relation to the naval strategy and research needs identified at the conference. ONR congratulates the recipients of the 2008 CNR Challenge awards:

  • Jae Lew, Mobility and Safety Enhancement of Military Ground Vehicles Through Torque Vectoring
  • Nathan Hamilton, Applying Advanced Statistical Methods to Complex Social Networks
  • T.F. Morse, Efficient Underwater Communications
  • Michael Painter, Advanced Spectrum Allocation, Frequency Deconfliction and Scheduling Optimization Decision Support
  • Michael Larson, E-Field Cluster Buoys
  • F.J. Diez, Novel Thrust Generation and Flow Control Method Using Micro Electro-kinetic Actuator Arrays for Micro-UUVs
  • Meng H. Lean, Compact High-Throughput Membraneless Pretreatment for Reverse Osmosis
  • Ashok Kumar Ghosh, Ph.D., P.E., A Novel Material for an Adaptive and Stealth Naval Platform
  • Brian Teer, Combating Radicalization Analytic Model (CRAM)
  • Dr. Jacques Goeller, Protection of Warfighter from Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI)
  • Dr. Geoff Staines, Linear Generator for Directed Energy Weapons
  • Dr. Michael Browne, High-Power Microwave Directed Energy Threat Warning System

For more details, review the official media release.

* Some pages on this website provide links which require a plug in to view.