Offices of Research and Technology Applications Representatives

To derive maximum return on our country’s technological investments, Congress has passed legislation to encourage the transfer of federally funded technology to the private sector. Department of Navy (DoN) technology transfer representatives identify and assess potential technologies and ideas from their own laboratories that may be transferred to state and local governments, industry, or universities. These representatives also assist in domestic technology transfer efforts. An important mechanism to facilitate technology transfer is the Cooperative Research and Development Agreement (CRADA). A CRADA between a Naval laboratory and private sector enables the commercialization of DoN-developed technology to the benefit of both parties. Universities, industry, organizations or individuals who wish to enter into a CRADA with a Naval laboratory are encouraged to communicate with the nearest Navy Offices of Research and Technology Applications (ORTA) representative or communicate directly with any laboratory known to work on a technology of interest.

CALIFORNIA

Fleet Readiness Center Southwest
Christopher B. Root, Code 4.0T
Advanced Technology and Innovation Integrated Program Team Lead
Office of Research and Technology Assessment
San Diego, CA 92135-7058
chris.root@navy.mil
(619) 545-0626 Voice, DSN 735-0626

Naval Air Warfare Center Weapons Division
Dylan Riley, Code 400000D
Research and Engineering Department
China Lake, CA 93555-6106
dylan.riley@navy.mil
(760) 939-2105 Voice, DSN 437-2105

Naval Air Warfare Center Weapons Division, Pt. Mugu
Dylan Riley, Code 400000D
Research and Engineering Department
China Lake, CA 93555-6106
dylan.riley@navy.mil
(760) 939-2105 Voice, DSN 437-2105

Naval Facilities Engineering and Expeditionary Warfare Center
Cheryl P. Monzon
Technical Director Office
Port Hueneme, CA 93043-4370
cheryl.monzon@navy.mil
(805) 982-1018 Voice, DSN 551-1018

Naval Health Research Center
San Diego, CA 92106-3521
POC: TBD

Naval Medical Center San Diego
Mark Pimentel
Office of Research and Technology Applications
Clinical Investigation Department
San Diego, CA 92134-1105
mark.s.pimentel.civ@mail.mil
(619) 532-5219 Voice, DSN 522-5219

Naval Postgraduate School
Agata Maslowska
Director, Research and Sponsored Programs Office
Office of the Vice President and Dean of Research
Monterey, CA 93943
Agata.maslowska@nps.edu
(851) 656-2270 Voice, DSN 756-2270

Naval Surface Warfare Center, Corona Division
Jennifer Stewart
Technology Transfer Office
Corona, CA 92878
jennifer.a.stewart@navy.mil
(951) 393-4518 Voice, DSN 933-4518

Naval Surface Warfare Center, Port Hueneme Division
Alan Jaeger
Office of Research and Technology Applications Manager
Port Hueneme, CA 93043-4307
alan.w.jaeger@navy.mil
(805) 228-7061 Voice, DSN 296-7061

Naval Information Warfare Center Pacific
Paul A. Herbert, Code 72120
Head, Technology Transfer Office
San Diego, CA 92152
paul.a.herbert@navy.mil
(619) 553-5118 Voice, DSN 553-5118

CONNECTICUT

Naval Submarine Medical Research Laboratory
Submarine Base New London
Groton, CT 06349-5900
POC: TBD

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Naval Research Laboratory
Amanda Horansky-McKinney, Code 1004
Head, Technology Transfer Office
Washington, DC 20375-5320
amanda.horansky-mckinney@nrl.navy.mil
(202) 767-1644 Voice

U.S. Naval Observatory
Washington, DC 20392-5420
POC: Dr. Pamela J. McDowell
pamela.mcdowell@navy.mil
(228) 688-4782 Voice, DSN 828-4782

FLORIDA

Fleet Readiness Center Southeast
Luzmarie Youngers, Code 4.3.4.6
Materials-Chemical Engineer
Materials Engineering Division
Naval Air Station Jacksonville
Jacksonville, FL 32212-0016
luzmarie.youngers@navy.mil
(904) 790-6382 Voice, DSN 94-690-6382

Naval Air Warfare Center Training Systems Division
Lisa Ouakil, Code 4.6T
Technology Transfer Office
Orlando, FL 32826-3224
lisa.ouakil@navy.mil
(407) 380-4238 Voice, DSN 960-4238

Navy Entomology Center of Excellence
Naval Air Station
Jacksonville, FL 32212-0043
POC: TBD

Naval Surface Warfare Center, Panama City Division
Dennis Gallagher, Code E15
Office of Research and Technology Applications
Panama City, FL 32407-7001
dennis.g.gallagher@navy.mil
(850) 235-5417 Voice, DSN 436-5417
http://www.navsea.navy.mil/Home/Warfare-Centers/Partnerships

HAWAII

Pearl Harbor Naval Shipyard & Intermediate Maintenance Facility
Eric Petran, Code 220.1
Office of Research and Technology Applications
Joint Base Pearl Harbor-Hicam, HI 96860-5033
eric.petran@navy.mil
(808) 473-8000 ext. 2560 Voice

INDIANA

Naval Surface Warfare Center, Crane Division
Jenna Dix, Code 00T
Office of Research and Technology Applications
Crane, IN 47522-5001
Jenna.dix@navy.mil
812-854-5049 Voice
http://www.navsea.navy.mil/Home/Warfare-Centers/NSWC-Crane/Partnerships/Technology-Transfer/
Technologies Available: http://prf.flintbox.com/public/group/761/

MAINE

Portsmouth Naval Yard
Sarah Buttrick, Code 1223
Technology Transfer Manager
Portsmouth, NH 03804-5000
sarah.buttrick@navy.mil
(207) 438-1529 Voice, DSN 684-1529

MARYLAND

Naval Air Warfare Center Aircraft Division
Michelle Miedzinski
Technology Transfer Office
Patuxent River, MD 20670-1606
PAXR_NAWCAD_TTO@navy.mil
(301) 342-1133 Voice, DSN 342-1133
http://www.navair.navy.mil/NAWCAD/index.cfm?fuseaction=home.content_detail&key=2D3FA237-B2F7-4BC6-90E2-0955C5502771

Naval Medical Research Center
Silver Spring, MD 20910-7500
POC: TBD

Naval Surface Warfare Center, Carderock Division
Dr. Joseph P. Teter, Code 00T
Director of Technology Transfer
West Bethesda, MD 20817-5700
joseph.teter@navy.mil
(301) 227-4299 Voice, DSN 287-4299
http://www.navsea.navy.mil/Home/Warfare-Centers/NSWC-Carderock/Partnerships/Technology-Transfer-Office

Naval Surface Warfare Center
Indian Head Explosive Ordnance Disposal Technology Division
Dr. Christopher Wilhelm, Code CA5
Indian Head, MD 20640
christopher.wilhelm@navy.mil
(301) 744-6489 Voice, DSN 354-6489
http://www.navsea.navy.mil/Home/Warfare-Centers/NSWC-Indian-Head-EOD-Technology/Partnerships/Technology-Transfer

United States Marine Corps Forces Cyberspace Command
Kevin Allen Dorsey G-9
Fort Meade, MD 20755
kadorse@nsa.gov
(443) 634-5445 Voice

United States Naval Academy
Dr. Joyce E. Shade
Associate Director of Research and Technology Transfer
Research Office
Annapolis, MD 21402-5031
shade@usna.edu
(410) 293-2509 Voice
http://www.usna.edu/AcResearch

MASSACHUSETTS

Navy Clothing and Textile Research Facility
Natick, MA 01760
POC: TBD

MISSISSIPPI

Naval Meteorology and Oceanography Command
Dr. Pamela J. McDowell
Stennis Space Center, MS 39529
pamela.mcdowell@navy.mil
(228) 688-4782 Voice, DSN 828-4782

NEW JERSEY

Naval Air Warfare Center Aircraft Division
Gaetan Mangano
Office of Research and Technology Applications
Lakehurst, NJ 08733-5055
gaetan.mangano@navy.mil
(732) 323-2899 Voice, DSN 624-2899

NORTH CAROLINA

Fleet Readiness Center East
Robert Kestler
Science and Technology Lead (AIR-4.OT)
Office of Research and Technology Applications
In-Service Support Center
Cherry Point, NC 28533-0021
robert.kestler@navy.mil
(252) 464-9888 Voice, DSN 451-9888

OHIO

Naval Medical Research Unit Dayton
Wright Patterson AFB, OH 45433-5707
POC: TBD

PENNSYLVANIA

Naval Surface Warfare Center, Philadelphia Division
Patrick J. McGinnis
Philadelphia, PA 19112-5083
patrick.mcginnis@navy.mil
(215) 897-8492 Voice

RHODE ISLAND

Naval Undersea Warfare Center, Division Newport
Mary L. Sylvia, Code 00T2
Office of Research and Technology Applications
Technology Partnership Office
Newport, RI 02841
mary.sylvia@navy.mil
(401) 832-8728 Voice, DSN 432-8728

Naval War College
TBD
Newport, RI 02841-1207

SOUTH CAROLINA

Naval Information Warfare Center Atlantic
Michael Merriken, Code 70F00
Manager, Technology Transfer Office/ORTA
North Charleston, SC 29419-9022
michael.merriken@navy.mil
(843) 218-3495 Voice, DSN 588-3495

TEXAS

Naval Medical Research Unit San Antonio
Fort Sam Houston, TX 78234-6315
POC: TBD

VIRGINIA

Headquarters United States Marine Corps Intelligence Department
James R. Adkins
Lead Engineer
Technology Innovation Division
Quantico, VA 22134
jadkins@mcia.osis.gov
(703) 784-6390 Voice, DSN 278-6390

Marine Corps Cyberspace Operations Group
Joseph Petto
Office of Research and Technology Applications
Quantico, VA 22134
joseph.petto@usmc.mil
(703) 784-4156 Voice, DSN 278-4156

Marine Corps Systems Command
Martin Jackson
Office of Research and Technology Applications
Quantico, VA 22134
martin.jackson@usmc.mil
(703) 432-4129 Voice, DSN 378-4129

Marine Corps Warfighting Laboratory/Futures Directory
Jeff Tomczak
Quantico, VA 22134
jeff.tomczak@usmc.mil
(703) 784-0144 Voice

Naval Medical Center Portsmouth
Ania G. Castillo
Office of Research and Technology Applications
Clinical Investigation Department
Portsmouth, VA 23708
ania.g.castillo.civ@mail.mil
(757) 953-5939 Voice, DSN 377-5939

Naval Surface Warfare Center, Dahlgren Division
Melody S. Ryan
Office of Research and Technology Applications
Chief Technology Office
Dahlgren, VA 22448-5154
melody.ryan@navy.mil
(540) 653-1417 Voice, DSN 249-1417

Navy Warfare Development Command
William M. Ciaston
Fleet Experimentation Plans Manager
Command Office of Research and Technology Applications
Norfolk, VA 23511-2723
william.ciaston@navy.mil
(757) 341-4318 Voice, DSN 341-4318

Norfolk Naval Shipyard
Jamaal Hill, Code 1200
Nuclear Engineer
Business and Strategic Planning
Portsmouth, VA 23709
jamaal.hill@navy.mil
(757) 396-9863 Voice

WASHINGTON

Naval Undersea Warfare Center, Division Keyport
Thai Tran, Code 00T
Office of Research and Technology Applications, Technology Transfer Director
Keyport, WA 98345-7610
thai.b.tran@navy.mil
(360) 315-3287

Puget Sound Naval Shipyard and Intermediate Maintenance Facility
Ronald Zmijewski, Code 100PI
Bremerton, WA 98314-2078
ronald.zmijewski@navy.mil
(360) 340-1226 Voice

OTHER

U.S. Naval Medical Research Unit No. 2
U.S. Naval Medical Research Unit No. 3
U.S. Naval Medical Research Unit No. 6

POC: TBD

* Some pages on this website provide links which require a plug in to view.